Skip to content

IEUA – National

About the Union

The Independent Education Union of Australia (IEUA) with a current membership of over 75,000, is the federally registered industry union representing all employees working in non-government schools and institutions across Australia. Included in its membership are teachers, principals and ancillary staff in faith based, community and independent schools and early childhood education and care centres, and post secondary centres across Australia.

The Independent Education Union of Australia is structured in a way to ensure that the industrial and professional needs of members are best served. There are state branches, generally reflecting the state and territory boundaries – these are:

The Independent Education Union of Australia has a Federal Council and Federal Executive, elected every 3 years in accord with the Rules of the organisation. 

The Federal Council is the supreme governing body of the Union and in accordance with the Rules, meets at least once per year.

The Federal Executive meets regularly during the year and subject to decisions of the Federal Council, exercises all of the functions and powers of the Federal Council other than those set out in the organisation’s Rules.